Nanomaterials, Catalysis, Electrochemistry (NCE)


The NCE laboratory is active in the development of nanostructured materials for various applications such as catalysis, electrochemistry and functionalized coatings. The specificity of NCE's research lies in their transversality, through which materials science and chemical engineering are approached in an integrated way.

Team

Permanent academic and scientific staff

 

- Mr Cédric GOMMES, research associate FNRS, adjunct associate professor

- Mr Benoit HEINRICHS, professor (President of the Department)

- Mrs Nathalie JOB, professor

- Mrs Stéphanie LAMBERT, senior research associate FNRS, adjunct associate professor

 

Senior researchers and postdocs

 

- Mrs Christelle ALIE

- Mr Cédric CALBERG

- Mr Giuseppe CALDARELLA

- Ms Sigrid DOUVEN

- Mr Alexandre LÉONARD

- Mr Dimitri LIQUET

- Mr Carlos PAEZ

- Mrs Sophie PIRARD

- Mr Vaios STERGIOPOULOS

 

Junior researchers and Doctoral fellows

 

- Mr Artium BELET

- Mr Joe CARABETTA

- Mr François CHALTIN

- Mr Fabien DESCHAMPS

- Ms Chellda EXANTUS

- Ms Aleksandra GRZELAK

- Ms Korina HARTMANN

- Mr Carlos MENDOZA

- Mr Nicolas REGIBEAU

- Mr Jérôme SCHRUYERS

- Mr Rémi TILKIN

- Mr Cédric WOLFS


Reseach

Synthesis of nanostructured materials

Since the morphology of a material at nanoscale is critical for its performances, research studies aim at developing methods for the controlled synthesis of nanostructures dispersed, or not, within porous matrices.

The methods developed mainly concern wet syntheses among which, the Sol-Gel process.

Many inorganic, inorganic-organic hybrid and carbon-based materials are synthesized for specific applications, in particular in the fields of catalysis and electrochemistry.

Catalysts for specific applications

The use of Sol-Gel process for the preparation of supported catalysts allows, unlike usual routes for the preparation of these materials, to gather in one single step the formation of the support and the introduction of the active sites. In several heterogeneous catalysis or photocatalysis applications, the materials obtained have remarkable performances in terms of activity, selectivity, stability and diffusion of reactants and products.

Numerous materials, with various shapes, have been developed for their use in processes of industrial and/or environmental interest: hydrogenation, hydrodechlorination, (photo)-oxidation for the degradation of pollutants and microorganisms or for the synthesis of organic compounds, synthesis of carbon nanotubes, biogas purification, ...

Shaping and scaling-up

Beyond design and synthesis of nanostructured materials, shaping processes are developed and optimized. Thus, the materials produced are used in the form of powders, films, beads, monoliths, etc.

An important aspect of the research is to demonstrate the feasibility for scaling-up of both synthesis methods and shaping processes at an industrial scale. Studies are therefore devoted to their development at an intermediate pilot scale, between the laboratory and the industrial scales.

Examples include the production of microbeads from powders through the microencapsulation process developed by BRACE GmbH, the deposition of photoactive nanometric films by roll-coating for steel industry and in commercial devices for water purification, the production of electrodes by spray-coating, ...

Share this page

Le laboratoire NCE est actif dans le développement de matériaux nanostructurés pour diverses applications telles que la catalyse, l'électrochimie et les revêtements fonctionnalisés. La spécificité des recherches de NCE réside dans leur transversalité à travers laquelle la science des matériaux et le génie chimique sont abordés de manière intégrée.

Recherche

Synthèse de matériaux nanostructurés

La morphologie d'un matériau à l'échelle nanométrique étant déterminante pour ses performances, les recherches visent à mettre au point des méthodes de synthèse contrôlée de nanostructures dispersées ou non au sein de matrices poreuses.

Les méthodes développées concernent principalement des synthèses par voie liquide. Parmi celles-ci, le procédé Sol-Gel occupe une place importante.

De nombreux matériaux inorganiques, hybrides inorganiques-organiques et carbonés sont synthétisés en fonction des applications visées, notamment dans les domaines de la catalyse et de l’électrochimie.

Par exemple, les méthodes développées permettent de produire des nanocristallites métalliques très fines distribuées de manière homogène au sein de nanostructures poreuses formant le solide. Elles permettent également le greffage, en cours de formation du solide, de fonctions organiques ou de complexes métalliques.

En outre, le recours à des conditions expérimentales ou des additifs spécifiques permet de créer une texture poreuse sur mesure, telle que par exemple une structure hyperporeuse de type aérogel.

Catalyseurs pour des applications spécifiques

L'application du procédé Sol-Gel à la préparation de catalyseurs supportés permet, contrairement aux voies habituelles de préparation de ces matériaux, de regrouper en une seule étape la formation du support et l'introduction des sites actifs. Dans plusieurs procédés de catalyse ou de photocatalyse hétérogène, les matériaux obtenus présentent des performances remarquables en termes d'activité, de sélectivité, de stabilité et de diffusion des réactifs et produits.

De nombreuses formulations, couplées à diverses mises en forme, ont été développées pour leur utilisation dans des procédés d'intérêt industriel et/ou environnemental: hydrogénation, hydrodéchloration, (photo)-oxydation pour la dégradation de polluants et microorganismes ou la synthèse de composés organiques, synthèse de nanotubes de carbone, épuration de biogaz, …

Mise en forme et scaling-up

Au-delà de la conception et de la synthèse de matériaux nanostructurés, des procédés de mise en forme de ces matériaux sont développés et optimisés. Les matériaux produits sont ainsi mis en œuvre sous forme de poudres, de films, de billes, de monolithes, …

Un aspect important des recherches consiste à démontrer la faisabilité de l’extrapolation, tant des méthodes de synthèse que des procédés de mise en forme, à l’échelle industrielle. Des études sont ainsi consacrées à leur développement à une échelle pilote intermédiaire, entre le laboratoire et l'atelier industriel.

A titre d’exemples, citons la production de microbilles à partir de poudres par le procédé industriel de microencapsulation développé par BRACE GmbH, le dépôt de films nanométriques photoactifs par roll-coating pour l’industrie de l’acier ainsi que dans des dispositifs commerciaux d’épuration de l’eau, la production d’électrodes par spray-coating, …

Partagez cette page