Products, Environment, and Processes (PEPs)


PEPs logo

In the PEPs group, we are active in the fields of (bio-) chemical reaction engineering, thermal and mechanical unit operations, process simulation, low carbon energy systems and sustainable development. This includes the corresponding fundamentals, especially mass and energy transfers, and multi-phase fluid dynamics.

A strength of our approach is to link the different scales in time and space:

  • starting from microscopic and even molecular level
  • having a strong focus on the equipment level in experiment as well as modelling
  • reaching up to the simulation of entire processes
  • and evaluating the favored large-scale deployment pathway 

This allows us to reliably describe and optimize equipment performance based on physically sound modelling, which even includes extrapolation beyond the region of experiments. These tools permit a knowledge-based optimization of equipment design and operation parameters, as a basis for safe, sustainable and profitable scale-up of the processes. Indeed, the simulation of entire processes together with Life Cycle Assessment (LCA) as eco-design support guide the optimization on the process level, where economic as well as environmental parameters are included in the evaluation.

Experimental infrastructure is available for model development and validation, covering a wide range of applications, e.g. to study hydrodynamics in a various equipment including trajectography, to follow the microstructure of materials and systems during their processing especially in a product-oriented engineering approach with (micro-) tomography, lab-scale measuring devices for characterization of behavior of drops and dispersions as well as pilot-plant scale equipment for various unit operations like drying and distillation. In addition, adequate chemical analysis equipment is used to determine gas and liquid phase compositions, including various chromatography and X-ray devices.

The future perspective of our research – besides further development of our fundamental methods – is to get chemical-engineering design tools prepared for the future. Thus our current research topics aim at allowing safe design of sustainable chemical and biobased processes, where process-specific material and energy transformations imply properties changes in the systems like e.g. increased viscosity, posing challenges to the chemical engineer. Similarly the recycle of used material like recovery of phosphorus from sewage sludge or the separation of rare earth elements in urban mining create new and challenging engineering tasks. In particular, main and alternative routes have to be evaluated and compared for sustainability and this can be done with the methods we design.

The majority of our methods and applications is developed in cooperation or at least in close contact with industry, including essentially all major chemical companies and a variety of local and European SMEs.


 

Team

Permanent academic and scientific staff

- Mrs Marie Noelle DUMONT, senior research fellow, adjunct associate professor

- Mr  Klaus KECK-ANTOINE, deputy professor

- Mrs Angélique LÉONARD, full professor (Director of the Research Unit)

- Mr Grégoire LÉONARD, associate professor

- Mr Andreas PFENNIG, professor

- Mr Jean-Marc SCHWEITZER, deputy professor

- Mrs Dominique TOYE, full professor (Vice-Dean of Teaching, FSA)

 

Senior researchers and postdocs

- Mr Sébastien CALVO

- Ms Angélique DELAFOSSE

- Mrs Sylvie GROSLAMBERT

- Mr Erwan PLOUGONVEN

 

Junior researchers ans Doctoral fellows

- Ms Hana BENKOUSSAS

- Mr Paul DUPONT

- Mr Amirhossein FIROZI

- Ms Saïcha GERBINET

- Mr Nicolas GRAINDORGE

- Ms Florence HAUTEKEER

- Ms Loubna KAHLERRAS

- Mr David LELEU

- Mr Jonathan MAHAUX

- Mr Antoine MERLO

- Ms Coralie ROCCA

- Mr Zaheer SHARIFF

- Mr Dinh Khang VU

- Ms Klara WECK

 

Technical and specialized staff

- Mr Thierry SALMON, Technical Director (Hall of Chemical Engineering)


Main Topics

  • Life cycle assessment: Determination of the environmental impact associated to products or processes, support to ecodesign, implementation of environmental product declarations
  • Sludge management: Optimization of wastewater sludge treatment from conditioning and dewatering to drying
  • Drying of materials: Study of the drying kinetics and textural changes of materials using several drying technologies and advanced characterization tools such as X-ray microtomography to follow shrinkage and cracks
  • Solvent and reactive extraction: Develop and validate a design tool for extraction columns based on the drop-based simulation of the columns, where the parameters of the drop models are determined from lab experiments
  • Coalescence, liquid-liquid phase separation, and settlers: Settler design based on single-drop modelling, where the coalescence parameters are determined from a lab-scale settling experiment
  • Exergetic evaluation and advanced thermodynamic modelling: Exergo-economic comparison of entire process routes and individual process steps is performed, especially for bio-based substances advanced thermodynamic models are derived
  • Reactor design: Experimental characterization and modelling of flow and mass transfer in stirred tank and packed bed (bio)reactors. Modeling of their global performances. Scale-up and scale-down models.
  • Advanced experimental techniques: Development and adaptation of noninvasive visualization techniques to characterize hydrodynamics and mass transfer in (bio)reactors.
  • Product-oriented engineering: Fabrication of porous polymer materials with controlled end-use properties based on the mastering of their microstructure through an optimal selection of the fabrication conditions.
  • CO2 capture: Experimental study of solvent stability and optimization of the post-combustion CO2 capture process for emissions reduction in large industries and power plants. Negative CO2 emissions with air capture and bio-CCS.
  • Power-to-fuel: Integration of CO2 capture with water electrolysis and synthesis of liquid fuels whose high energy density allows for long term energy storage from variable renewables.
  • Process simulation, optimization and economic evaluation: Steady-state and dynamic modeling of large and complex processes to evaluate and improve their energy efficiency, environmental sustainability and financial viability.

Share this page

peps rvb

Dans le groupe PEPs, nous sommes actifs dans les domaines de l'ingénierie de la réaction (bio-) chimique, des opérations physiques unitaires, de la simulation de procédés, des systèmes énergétiques à faible émission de carbone et du développement durable. Cela inclut la maitrise des concepts fondamentaux tels que les transferts de masse et d'énergie et la dynamique des fluides en milieu multi-phasique.

Un point fort de notre approche est de relier les différentes échelles spatiales et temporelles:

  • à partir du niveau microscopique et même moléculaire
  • au niveau des équipements expérimentaux ainsi que la modélisation
  • obtenir la simulation complète des processus
  • et l'évaluation des possibilités de déploiement à grande échelle

Cela nous permet de décrire de façon fiable et d'optimiser les performances des processus sur base d’une modélisation physiquement saine, ce qui inclut l'extrapolation au-delà de la région expérimentale. Ces outils permettent une optimisation fondée sur la connaissance des équipements et des paramètres d'opération, comme préalable à une mise à l’échelle sûre, durable et rentable. Enfin, la simulation complète avec une analyse du cycle de vie (ACV) en tant que support d'éco-conception guide l'optimisation du procédé.

Des infrastructures expérimentales sont disponibles pour le développement et la validation de modèles, couvrant une large gamme d'applications, par exemple la trajectographie qui permet l’étude de l'hydrodynamique dans différents équipements, la (micro-) tomographie pour suivre la microstructure des matériaux et des systèmes pendant leur traitement , la caractérisation du comportement des gouttes et leur dispersion qui sont étudiées dans des appareils de mesure à l’échelle du laboratoire, ou encore l’utilisation d’équipements à l'échelle de l'installation pilote pour diverses opérations unitaires telles que le séchage et la distillation. De plus, un équipement d'analyse chimique adéquat est utilisé pour déterminer les compositions de phase gazeuse et liquide, y compris divers dispositifs de chromatographie et de rayons X.

Les perspectives futures pour notre recherche - outre le développement de nos méthodes fondamentales - est de développer des outils de conception d'ingénierie chimique pour l'avenir. Ainsi, nos thèmes de recherche actuels visent à permettre la conception sûre de processus chimiques et bio-sourcés durables, où le développement de matériaux et de processus énergétiques spécifiques au procédé impliquent des changements de propriétés dans les systèmes comme par exemple, une viscosité accrue, ce qui pose des défis à l'ingénieur chimiste. De même, le recyclage des matières usées comme la récupération du phosphore des boues d'épuration ou la séparation des éléments des terres rares dans les mines urbaines créent de nouvelles et difficiles tâches d'ingénierie. En particulier, les voies principales ainsi que les alternatives doivent être évaluées et comparées pour un développement durable et cela peut être fait avec les méthodes que nous concevons.

La majorité des méthodes et applications sont développées en coopération ou du moins en contact étroit avec l'industrie, y compris toutes les grandes entreprises chimiques et une variété de PME locales et européennes.

Sujets Principaux

  • Analyse du cycle de vie: détermination de l'impact environnemental associé aux produits ou procédés, soutien à l'écoconception, mise en œuvre des déclarations environnementales des produits
  • Gestion des boues: optimisation du traitement des boues d'épuration du conditionnement et de l'assèchement au séchage
  • Séchage des matériaux: étude de la cinétique de séchage et des changements de texture des matériaux en utilisant plusieurs technologies de séchage et des outils de caractérisation avancés tels que la microtomographie de rayons X pour suivre le retrait et les fissures
  • Extraction réactive et extraction de solvants: développer et valider un outil numérique pour les colonnes d'extraction basé sur une simulation au goutte à goutte où les paramètres des modèles sont déterminés à partir d'expériences
  • Coalescence, séparation de systèmes liquides biphasiques et décanteurs: design de décanteur basé sur la modélisation d'une goutte où les paramètres de coalescence sont déterminés à l'aide d'expériences de sédimentation en laboratoire
  • Évaluation exergétique et modélisation thermodynamique avancée: une comparaison exergo-économique de différentes voies de procédés entiers et d'étapes individuelles de procédés est réalisée, et plus spécifiquement, pour les produits bio-sourcés, des modèles thermodynamiques avancés sont développés.
  • Conception du réacteur: caractérisation expérimentale et modélisation du débit et du transfert de masse dans des réacteurs biologiques à cuve agitée et à colonne à empilement. Modélisation de leurs performances globales. Modèles d'échelle et de réduction.
  • Techniques expérimentales avancées: développement et adaptation de techniques de visualisation non invasives pour caractériser l'hydrodynamique et le transfert de masse dans (bio) réacteurs.
  • Ingénierie orientée sur les produits: fabrication de matériaux polymères poreux avec des propriétés d'utilisation finale contrôlées basées sur la maîtrise de leur microstructure par une sélection optimale des conditions de fabrication.
  • Captage du CO2: étude expérimentale de la stabilité des solvants et optimisation du processus de capture du CO2 après la combustion pour la réduction des émissions dans les grandes industries et les centrales électriques. Émissions de CO2 négatives avec capture d'air et stockage ou confinement du dioxyde de carbone.
  • Puissance-au-carburant: intégration de la capture du CO2 avec l'électrolyse de l'eau et la synthèse des combustibles liquides dont la densité énergétique élevée permet un stockage à long terme de l'énergie à partir de sources renouvelables variables.
  • Simulation de processus, optimisation et évaluation économique: modélisation statique et dynamique de procédés grands et complexes pour évaluer et améliorer leur efficacité énergétique, leur durabilité environnementale et leur viabilité financière.

Partagez cette page